Nominate a nurse for a 2023 BCEN Distinguished Award, which honors top board-certified RNs for their commitment to excellence in five emergency nursing specialties:

  • adult/mixed emergency
  • pediatric emergency
  • flight
  • critical care ground transport
  • trauma

The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing sponsors the annual Distinguished Awards for Emergency Nursing (BCEN). Approximately 50,000 RNs worldwide hold a BCEN nursing specialty credential, with over 40,000 holding the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN).

BCEN’s Distinguished Awards are open to RNs across the U.S. and worldwide who hold any of BCEN’s five nursing specialty credentials. Nominees can be bedside nurses and/or serving as a nurse leader, educator, professional development, administrator, research, or military roles. Nurses may self-nominate or be nominated by a colleague, a supervisor, or their organization.

“Recognizing the excellence and extraordinary commitment of board-certified nurses is one of the most important things we do,” says BCEN CEO Janie Schumaker, MBA, BSN, RN, CEN, CENP, CPHQ, FABC. “We encourage nurses, leaders, and employers to nominate a deserving emergency, trauma, or transport nurse for one of BCEN’s Distinguished Awards.”

Nominations are being accepted through March 15, 2023, for the following awards:

  • 2023 Distinguished CEN Award (adult/mixed emergency)
  • 2023 Distinguished CPEN Award (pediatric emergency)
  • 2023 Distinguished CFRN Award (flight)
  • 2023 Distinguished CTRN Award (critical care ground transport)
  • 2023 Distinguished TCRN Award (trauma)

The 2023 BCEN Distinguished Award honorees will be selected based on (1) their commitment to specialty-certified clinical excellence and professionalism in their nursing practice or role and (2) their leadership and innovation in supporting and advancing nursing specialty-certification and specialty-certified nursing care. Visit the BCEN awards page for complete details and eligibility criteria.

See also
Emergency Nurses Week in a Continuing Pandemic

The nomination window for the 2023 BCEN National Certification Champion Award, which recognizes organizations for their commitment to nursing excellence across the emergency spectrum, opens June 1.

Winners will receive a one-year all-access pass to the award-winning BCEN Learn continuing education platform (valued at $2,500), including the entire library of high-interactivity advanced CE courses plus all games, practice exams, and BCEN Learn Live on-demand conference proceedings.

Go here to submit your nominee by Wednesday, March 15, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. CDT.

Renee Hewitt
Share This