Do you know a nurse whose exceptional dedication, service and innovation truly exemplifies what excellence in nursing is all about? Someone who goes far beyond the call of duty to deliver the best possible care to patients, families and communities? Perhaps a friend, colleague, student, employee, mentor or mentee? Consider nominating him or her for the 2009 Cherokee Inspired Comfort Awards!

Minority nurses have always been well represented among the winners of these prestigious annual awards, which are sponsored by the health care apparel firm Cherokee Uniforms. Past recipients have come from a wide range of medical settings and clinical specialties, from rural health clinics and tribal health programs to leading cancer treatment centers, and from wound care to perinatal bereavement to improving the health of minority veterans.

To nominate a nursing professional for this year’s awards, visit Candidates can be nominated in the following categories:

• Registered nurses (RNs)
• Advanced practice nurses (APNs)
• Licensed practical nurses/licensed vocational nurses (LPNs/LVNs)
• Nursing students
• Other non-physician health care professionals.

Winners will be chosen by a panel of nursing leaders, past recipients and Cherokee Uniforms staff. The grand prize winner in each category will receive an all-expense-paid Caribbean cruise for two. Additional winners in each category will receive an all-expense-paid trip to a 2010 U.S. medical conference of their choice, an annual membership to their preferred clinical specialty association and a donation of $500 to the nonprofit organization of their choice.

And here’s another good reason to nominate an outstanding minority nurse or nursing student for the Cherokee Inspired Comfort Awards: For every nomination received, Cherokee Uniforms will make a donation to Nurses House, a national fund that provides emergency financial assistance to RNs facing serious hardship.

See also
Nurse Staffing and Education Linked to Reduced Patient Mortality

The deadline for submitting nominations has been extended to June 30, 2009.

Share This